82. True Story.

Newcastle_United_Logo_svgI want to tell you a tale, possibly a short one, but true none the less. It is about the time I played for Newcastle United.

Being a lifelong Ipswich Town fan of course I would have loved to have played for them, but things never work out that way. And as Sir Bobby Robson once managed the Toon Army it seemed OK to wear the black and white stripes.

When I started my playing career I was a goalkeeper. But soon found that my skills as a forward were much-needed.

The day, I’m sure was a saturday. The location, St.James Park, the opponents Liverpool.

172298_NewcastleI don’t remember much of the game, it seemed to fly by. What I do remember is how close I came to scoring and winning the game.

It was a goalmouth scramble, The ball hit the keeper and flew back, someone else hit the crossbar and that’s when my chance came. The ball was coming to me for that perfect once in a lifetime shot. My foot raised with speed and power and connected with the ball.  I watched it fly from my foot, but sadly just scoot by the top right hand corner and go out of play.

I put my hands to my head, and I heard the crowd say “ouch, what did you do that for?”

“eh?”

“You kicked me!”

“what?”

“You just kicked my in the ass!”

oh.

I awoke from my dream to find a very annoyed Wife. Apparently I kicked her several times.

True Story.

Moral of story….

Keep you knee over the ball and keep your shot down!

About davebakersoccer

I am a person who has always had too much time on their hands, and instead of creating a masterpiece or taking on the world, I have spent my time on nothing important at all.
This entry was posted in Family, Football/Soccer, Sports/Recreation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 82. True Story.

  1. Andrea says:

    Too funny!

  2. Jan Delpier says:

    How funny! Poor Dawn….:o(

  3. Brook says:

    LOL! I’m never letting you live this one down! 😄

Like it? Don't like it? Just let me know you were here!

