80. Detroit 2 – Pics From Above. And others.

I’ve written about Detroit before but I thought I’d share with you a few pics I took.

My Mum and my Sister just come over for a visit and so we had a nose around the city. We decided to take a tour of the Renascence Center.  On the tour they tell you all the interesting facts about the building. But of course the bit everyone wants to do is go to the observation deck on the 72nd floor.

The glass elevator. just like willy wonka. thats Canada in the distance.

The glass elevator. just like willy wonka. that’s Canada in the distance.

 

we all know how big these things are! this is what it looks like from floor 72

we all know how big these things are! this is what it looks like from floor 72

normally you can only get up here to go to this resteraunt.....

normally you can only get up here to go to this restaurant …..

 

......a resteraunt I'd never be able to afford to eat in!

……a  restaurant I’d never be able to afford to eat in!

 

From the Laugh-in TV show the oversized chair Rita Ratner sat in,

From the Laugh-in TV show the oversized chair Rita Ratner sat in,

On a good day you can see 30 miles in any direction from the 72nd floor, you can even see the Pontiac Silverdome.

On a good day you can see 30 miles in any direction from the 72nd floor, you can even see the Pontiac Silverdome.

one of my favorite Detroit Buildings

one of my favorite Detroit Buildings

Cobo, Joe Louis Arena

Cobo, Joe Louis Arena

Deeeeeeetroit!

Deeeeeeetroit!

Did you know there were tennis courts on the roof of the Milender Center?

Did you know there were tennis courts on the roof of the Milender Center?

Comerica Park!

Comerica Park!

I bumped into this guy in the GM show room!

I bumped into this guy in the GM show room!

After the Ren Cen we took the people mover for a tour. well worth 75 cents

After the Ren Cen we took the people mover for a tour. well worth 75 cents

Detroit has some wonderful buildings.

Detroit has some wonderful buildings.

And some wonderful artwork.

And some wonderful artwork.

My sister in Greektown, three seconds after she was checking to see if the statue is anotomically correct.

My sister in Greektown, three seconds after she was checking to see if the statue is anatomically correct.

OK this isn't Detroit, its the christmas lights at partridge creek.

OK this isn’t Detroit, it’s the christmas lights at partridge creek.

And finally as I have nowhere else to put this pic. I was at my favorite breakfast haunt, Andarys in Clinton Township and I spotted a hidden face on the menu!

And finally as I have nowhere else to put this pic. I was at my favorite breakfast haunt, Andarys in Clinton Township and I spotted a hidden face on the menu!

 

About davebakersoccer

I am a person who has always had too much time on their hands, and instead of creating a masterpiece or taking on the world, I have spent my time on nothing important at all.
This entry was posted in Detroit, Family, Holidays/Vacations and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 80. Detroit 2 – Pics From Above. And others.

  1. Janet says:

    My sister works in that favorite building of yours. And I’m afraid I have to be a bit of a pedant and correct you. It was Lili Tomlin in the oversized chair. She does look a bit like Rita Rudner, but is quite a bit earlier.

  2. pennypup says:

    Awesome photos! Love how you captured Canada in the first shot hehehe.

  3. Brook says:

    It’s a trap!

Like it? Don't like it? Just let me know you were here!

