67. I Dream About Movies.

Aww.

They say that genius and insanity are not that different. Well this blog entry is leaning way to the left of the latter. Probably the dumbest thing I’ve done in a while and for sure a huge waste of time.  I’ve mentioned my before my passion for lists before a couple of times and now I’ve gone and done another one. I’d wanted to put together this list for a while and never got round to it. Time is a valuable commodity in my house what with work, soccer, soccer paperwork, sleep, eating.

So with that in mind, I put off what I was doing just to make this dumbass list. It is important to note that it took me a week of spare time in the evenings to do, and at several points during that time I thought to myself, “why the hell are you doing this?”

Proof that I actually did this crap!

The closer I got to the end though the more those thoughts went away and the results were quiet interesting. Well to me anyway.

Now I hear you cry, what is this list about. Well I shall explain thus.

For a long time I’ve always pondered who my favorite actor  is. If I was to make a snap decision I would have to say Morgan Freeman, what a class guy on-screen, from playing Red in the Shawshank Redemption  or God in Bruce Almighty.  I just enjoy everything he does. So you would think that because Morgan is my favorite actor I would own all his movies.

Not so. 

If there is a God, please let it be Morgan Freeman.

I have only a few Morgan Freeman movies that I own. So perhaps, I mused, Morgan isn’t my favorite actor? So who the hell is? How could I work this out? Well the simple way to work it out is to just look and see who the stars of the movies I own are, count them up and work it out. But I’m not a simple guy. I also thought about all the bit players, there are some actors who have never starred in a movie, but have been in loads of them. So to be fair I would have to add them to my list. 

Are you insane? Well to some I might seem a little insane. Why the hell would you do this? Why does the mountain climber climb the mountain? Because he can. 

Although I am close to a nut case, I’m not a full-blown weirdo yet. I shall wait for the alzimer’s to kick in for that. So to make my task a little easy on me I set up a few rules for myself. If I didn’t I would send myself round the twist.

Alan North, Police Squad and Highlander! Love it.

Rules are thus: Using IMdb.com for my references I would go through each of my numerous DVDs and list the actors an actresses. But I would only use the first 15 listed. I figured if you are not in the first 15 you can’t be that important! Secondly, if the actor was too lazy to add a photo then you’re out too. Which was a shame because I always liked Alan North. And thirdly I would use movies and sit coms, but no animated movies. And fourthly there is no fourthly, so it was all down to the listing and the constant questions from my wife of “what the hell are you doing over there?”

2945 data entries later, 2132 actors and actresses from Aaron Eckhart to Zooey Daschenel all counted and sorted in to a nice little chart.  The goal to find my favorite actor has come down to this.

Ta-da. The results. Who will it be? I guess you could scroll to the bottom and cheat, but where’s the fun in that.

 

Ronny Cox

Tied in 9th place 1,666 actors with only 1 listing. Of course I’m not going to list them all but a few notable names are Alfred Molina, Alicia Silverstone, Andie MacDowell, Andy Garcia, Anthony Hopkins (another one I would have chosen as my favorite), Billy Connolly, Harvey Keitel, Minnie Driver, Noel Coward, Rachel McAdams, Ralph Machio, Richard Dreyfuss, Ricardo Montlaban, Richard Pryor, Ronny Cox,  Robert Shaw, Sam Rockwell, Sarah Jessica Parker, Steve Martin, Steven Berkoff, Sydney Pollack, Tim Allen, Tommy Lee Jones, Val Kilmer.

 

Some guy from a movie I really like.

Tied in 8th place 263 with 2 listings, these superstars; Alex Winter, Albert Finney, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Bill Murray, Catherine Zeta-Jones (Michael Douglas didn’t even make the list by the way!) Christian Bale, Christopher Lambert, Cuba Gooding Jr., Deep Roy, Donald Sutherland, Emily Blunt, Emma Thompson, Frances McDormand, Geoffrey Rush, Gerard Butler, Giovanni Ribisi, Hugo Weaving, James Cromwell, James Whitmore, Jeff Bridges, John C. Rielly, John Candy, John Cussak, John Malkovich, Jon Heder, Kelly Preston, Kevin Kline, Lauren Holly, Luis Guzman, Maggie Smith, Randy Quaid, Russell Brand, Sean Connery (another one who I would have put at number 1), Terrance Stamp, Tim Roth, William Shatner.

One of those guys who pops up in every movie!

Tied in 7th place 112 with just three appearances on the list.

 Alec Baldwin, Alec Guiness, Amy Phoeler, Ben Stiller, Bill Nighy, Billy Zane, Cate Blanchett, Dakota Fanning, Dan Aykroyd, David Prowse, Erick Avery,  George Carlin,  Halle Berry, Hugh Laurie, James Earl Jones, James Franco, Jamie Lee Curtis, Jason Mewes, Jeff Goldblum,  Jennifer Garner, Jim Broadbent, John Hurt, Kate Hudson, Kevin Bacon, Lea Thompson, Liam Neeson, Liev Schrieber, Maggie Gylenhaal,  Phillip Seymour Hoffman, Robert Duvall, Sacha Barron Cohen, Terry Jones, Toby Mcguire, Tom Cruise, Will Arnett, Willem Dafoe, Wynona Ryder, Woody Harrilson.

Julie Walters

Six place tie goes to these Celebs with 4 listings. Adam Sandler, Barry Pepper, Bernard Hill, Brendan Fraser, Brian Cox, Carrie Fisher, Drew Barrymore, Eddie Murphy, Elisabeth Shue, Ernie Hudson, Gary Oldman, Harrison Ford, Heath Ledger, Hugh Jackman, Ian McDairmid, J.K. Simmons, Jeff Daniels, Jim Parsons, Jon Farevau, Jonah Hill, Julie Walters, Kathy Bates, Meryl Streep, Michael Palin, Miranda Richardson, Rik Mayall, Samual L. Jackson, Sigourney Weaver, Stanley Tucci.

Kirsten Dunst.

Fifth place with five listings goes to these 20 players.

 Anthony Daniels, Emma Watson, Ewan Mcgreggor, Famke Jannsen, Fiona Shaw, Harry Melling, Johnny Galecki, Keanu Reeves, Kirsten Dunst, Michael Caine, Natilie Portman, Nicole Kidman, Sandra Bullock, Sean Astin, Stephen Fry, Steve Buscemi, Timothy Spall, Tony Robinson, Will Farrell, Will Smith.

Christopher Lee

The next nine came in fourth

Thanks for taking part

Close but no banana.

 Alan Rickman, Christopher Lee, Frank Oz, Julia Stiles, Morgan Freeman (so close!), Orlando Bloom, Richard Griffiths, Robin Williams, Rupert Grint.

IN THIRD PLACE! with seven listings

Top Placed Actress – Helena Bohnham Carter

Helena!

John Cleese

This parrot is no more!

Matt Damon

Matt Damon!

SECOND PLACE with eight listings.

Daniel Radcliffe

Harry Potter

Johnny Depp

Captain! Captain Jack Sparrow

Tom Hanks (actually the one I thought would win this!)

Can you ruffle my hair Mr Hanks?

DRUM ROLL PLEASE!

IT’S A TIE FOR FIRST PLACE with nine listings each

Jim Carrey

Ace Venturer, the mask, and my favorite the Majestic

Rowan Atkinson

Blackadder, Mr Bean, Scooby Doo!

So what does this prove. I like comedies? No it proves I really do waste my time on stuff! Thanks for reading. More toot coming soon!

About davebakersoccer

I am a person who has always had too much time on their hands, and instead of creating a masterpiece or taking on the world, I have spent my time on nothing important at all.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 67. I Dream About Movies.

  1. batty says:

    I think you need to see someone mate

  2. lolabees says:

    Wow! I thought I was good at wasting time, but man, you’ve got me beat. So, this isn’t about a favorite actor, but my husband and I ask: if we were snowed in for a weekend and we could only watch one actor/actress’ movies, who would it be? It’s a tie between John Cusack, Ben Stiller, or Will Farrell. I do love Jim Carrey.

Like it? Don't like it? Just let me know you were here!

