45. March 17th.

Today is a special day for three reasons. It’s a happy day and also a day of being a little sad and remembering some good times.

Today is my sister Jackies 50th, sorry 30th-ish birthday. I used to be her younger brother, sometime in the mid nineties I became her older brother.

Not a good way to try sibbling bonding.

Let me tell you how great my sister is, when I was about 8 she took me to the fun fair and decided that it would be a good idea to take me on into the ghost house. Well being so young I was scared to death, she had to bring me home shaking and terrified, I had goosebumps for days!

Then there was the time I had to stand and wait for her at the leisure centre while she was around the corner snogging some boy.

Kidding aside, hope you have a great day Jackie, and I still can’t believe you have 200 grand children.

Probably the worst picture of Jackie and Me I could find! Happy Birthday!

Back in 2002 Jackie was celebrating which ever birthday she wanted it to be that year, she had a nice party a the Flying Fortress pub, it was also tinged with sadness as it was also my last day in England. March 17th 2002 I left the motherland and flew out to live full-time in the United States.  I still can’t believe that it has been ten years since I left Bury St. Edmunds. I also can’t believe that I looked that sickly back in 2002, I’ve put on a bit of weight since then! Probably something to do with the American food?

There is a reason beer is not meant to be Green!

Of course the last thing is that today is St. Patrick’s Day.  It wasn’t a big deal in England for some reason, I hear it is getting bigger over the last few years though.  When I came here for a visit in 1998 I went to a resteraunt on March 17th, I was un-aware that day that it was St.Paddys day. I ordered a beer and when it came to my table it was green. I looked at it as if it was poison.  I gave it a sniff, it smelled OK, Dawn told me all about what day it was, so I drank the beer. It tasted fine, its return visit didn’t taste as good. This is the reason I don’t like Budweiser.

 

 

So happy 10 year anniversary to me.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to all you drinkers out there.

And an enormous Happy Birthday to my big little sister. Wish I could be there today.

About davebakersoccer

I am a person who has always had too much time on their hands, and instead of creating a masterpiece or taking on the world, I have spent my time on nothing important at all.
This entry was posted in Family, Food and Drink and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 45. March 17th.

  1. pennypup says:

    Happy Birthday to big.. sorry… little sis! Happy St. Paddys! and finally Happy 10 years!

    I never got the green beer thing… but then again, I don’t care much for beer. =b

Like it? Don't like it? Just let me know you were here!

