35. Dave the Cardboard Box

I want to start this entry by saying the word Superbowl. I’m not going to blog about it, I just think that having the word somewhere on my blog will get a few more hits from search engines.

With that shameless effort to boost ratings out-of-the-way on to this entry. Dave the Cardboard box? Why that name? Well for those Brits reading this who remember the late 80s there was a TV show on called Carrotts Lib. Starring Jasper Carrott the comic from Birmingham.   One of the sections was Dave the Cardboard Box, a box called Dave. One of the sketches had Dave as a Lifeguard, of course Dave sucked at it because being a cardboard box, he couldn’t swim. Why do I mention this? Because one, its name is Dave and I like any character who shares my name. Two, it’s just another shameless effort to boost hits and three I want to ramble on about boxes.

Image from Veiw from the Potting Shed http://blog.garethjmsaunders.co.uk

As readers may remember I just moved house, so my house currently looks like the warehouse that I work in. I am sick to death of boxes. I’m also sick of not finding things I need. All my boxes were neatly labeled and found their way to the correct rooms, but I still can’t find anything. I could really do with finding my belt right now as my jeans are starting to ride a little low and I may get mistaken for a gang member.  I seem to remember though that I used to like boxes. Boxes were fun. I used to love the boxes that came in to our house when I was young.  A box could be used for anything and it could be anything. Cut some holes in it and it was a barracks for my Action Man (G.I.Joe). If you had several you could build a house, which could double as a castle. If you had a big box, you had a racing car or a spaceship. One time I made a whole row of slot machines out of boxes, sadly due to my skill of not making good slot machines they paid out every time so I went broke real quick. I could go on but I think I’ll leave you with this picture that sums it up. My old pal James Shields found it and I think its great.

from somethingofthatilk.com

 

 

About davebakersoccer

I am a person who has always had too much time on their hands, and instead of creating a masterpiece or taking on the world, I have spent my time on nothing important at all.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 35. Dave the Cardboard Box

  1. There is nothing my kids like better than a big ole cardboard box. Too bad I can’t take some of them off your hands.

Like it? Don't like it? Just let me know you were here!

