33. Moving On Up.

I have to apologise for not posting much, my one fan noticed the lack of posts and has been complaining! The reason for the quietness is that it has been a busy time in the Baker household, we have been moving house.

For the record I hate moving house. It’s not so much the having a new place to live, I have lived in some nice places, it is the packing all of my things up and carrying them to one vehicle driving the distance to the new abode and carrying them from said vehicle and then unpacking them again, then spending six months trying to find stuff. Sometimes during the move you find something you forgot you had and that’s a bonus, this time I found a pair of shoes I haven’t seen in three years!

This got me to thinking about all the times I’ve done this. I’ve moved fifteen times in my life, that is at least thirteen times too many.

I shall now mention a few of the more interesting moves. Why? I really havent a clue. Maybe it is just a chance to vent? Who can tell.
The first move was from Deck Walk on the Howard Estate in Bury St. Edmunds all the way to Oliver Road on the Westley Estate in Bury St.Edmunds. A trip of less than four miles. The Deck Walk house is where I was born, no fancy hospitals for me, I came screaming and kicking into this world in a council house. It was the house I grew up in and lived for the longest period, twelve years. That house has a lot of very cool memories for me, a lot I have already blogged about, moving out was a sad day, but exciting for me too, it was the first time I’d ever moved and it was a cool event. I still love that house and one day if I ever become famous I’ll make sure there is a Blue Plaque placed above the front door.
I spent the next few years on the Westley Estate, I was still young and spent most of my summers annoying the local farmers by moving their bails of hay.
Moving to Fornham St.Martin was next in 1988 living at the top of Barton Hill. I became a local in the Fornham Woolpack, a wonderful little pub. I used to walk the two miles to the pup and stagger the four miles back. The worst part was the Hill at the end of the trip. Sometimes my bladder wanted me to hurry up and walking up a hill became running up a hill. Sometimes I made it home, Sometimes my neighbours plants got watered.

I went off to the Army, and came back again, then one day I decided to move to Eastbourne on the south coast. I stayed with an aunt until I got my own appartement. My first place all on my own. It was great, pub was 100 meters to the right, where I worked was 200 meters to the left. On a Sunday morning I would grab a newspaper and sit on the beach and then pop off for some chips and then waste some coins in the slot machines on the pier

After a few years I decided to move Back to Bury where I lodged with a friend. Since then it seems like I’ve moved every three years.
Nowton Estate, Bury St.Edmunds
Town Center, Bury St.Edmunds
Mildenhall Estate, Bury St.Edmunds

Then the big one, The move to America! Probably the best move ever, I packed two boxes of keepsakes and threw everything else out! I didn’t even try to sell my worthless belongings. It was actually a very cleansing experience, I recommend to everyone that you once in your life throw everything out and start again!
I ended up in Casco, Michigan. I still remember the woman at customs saying Casco? Who the hell goes to Casco!
The most exciting thing about living in Casco is that Marshall Mathers once lived on the next street over, this was before he hit it big and became a lot more wealthy than I am.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Shelby Township, Michigan (a move two streets over!)
Lenox Township, Michigan
and now Clinton Township Michigan. To be honest I think I still have one more move left in me after this, I want to settle down and never pack anything ever again!

Normal posts will return soon! I still have a lot of things to share with you all.

About davebakersoccer

I am a person who has always had too much time on their hands, and instead of creating a masterpiece or taking on the world, I have spent my time on nothing important at all.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 33. Moving On Up.

  1. hunt8831 says:

    Ha ha 15 eh? I think I have you beat, both in quantity and density. I am only 22 and have moved 21 times. Granted, 15 of those times were for college, not full-belonging moves with family, I did have to pack everything I cared about and move (moving every 3 months is a skill I perfected at Kettering). #22 should be coming up here in the next month or 2 and hopefully that is the last for quite a while.

  2. I would be happy if I never moved again. It is one of the most stressful times ever. I don’t like stress. I do however like beer, so if I moved to a brewery it wouldn’t be that bad!

  3. Pingback: 83. Here I Am. | Things I Wasted Too Much Time On.

Like it? Don't like it? Just let me know you were here!

