31. Phone Phobia

Today I got my first Iphone. This also marks the day when I became old! I have no idea how to use it! I’m sure given a week or so I’ll have worked it out, but as of right now, I am clueless.

Its got all the bells and whistles does everything that it says that it does, apparently! At the moment it is sitting quietly in its box waiting for me to transfer my number from my old and well-worn out phone, once that number is transferred I will have entered the tech age. The Iphone is so very Star Trek, you can video chat which I am looking forward to, once I work out how to get it out of the box.

we had a phone like this, though we never got to use the letters!

The reason I’m blogging about the Iphone, is not to brag, quite the opposite. I feel very dumb right now and it got me back to thinking about how my Grandparents would have coped with all of this. I remember once my Grandma Baker came over to the house, I couldn’t have been more than six, at the time I thought it was great fun to dial 8081 and get the speaking clock, a tape recorded message. beep, beep, beep at the third stroke the time will be seven fifteen and twenty seconds, and so on depending on the time of day.  I gave the phone to my Grandmother, who tried to have a conversation with it, she just didn’t get it. Being the six-year-old that I was I thought it was hilarious, though now I understand. I’m sure my kids will have a great laugh at me, when I start moaning and groaning.

Red Phone box in my home town of Bury St.Edmunds

Then having a telephone in the house in 1975 was a novelty, I still remember having to walk to the phone box to make a call. I could never open the door to the big red phone boxes, the door weighed a ton. And then when you did get inside   depending on the proximity to a pub it may or may not smell of urine. It was however a good place to find coins that people had left there and you could treat yourself to a penny chew or two.

 

 

A Trim phone, we had one of these too!

Technology moves on and by the late seventies the big rotary phone was gone and we had gone up market and got a trendy Trim Phone. These were all the rage and the ring tone was just as popular. In fact there were competitions in England to see who could impersonate a Trim Phone the best. As I recall I was pretty good at it, though sadly time has robbed me of that talent. 

Over the years phones have got more impressive. They became portable, I was too young to have one of the original Brick mobile phones, but I did have a Nokia that would cause some real damage if thrown at a window. The my cell phone could play games, take pictures, the next one played MP3s and now the new one is taunting me from the kitchen table inside its box.  So now this blog entry is done, it is time to jump in head first, future here I come.

About davebakersoccer

I am a person who has always had too much time on their hands, and instead of creating a masterpiece or taking on the world, I have spent my time on nothing important at all.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 31. Phone Phobia

  1. hunt8831 says:

    Did you get it sorted out? I know I’ve had my Droid for almost a year and I am still learning things… and I’m a 22 year old engineer… so don’t feel so bad.

  2. Pingback: 77. All That Jazz. | Things I Wasted Too Much Time On.

Like it? Don't like it? Just let me know you were here!

