21. You Did What Now?

I have been wanting to post for a few days now but I started a new job so my time to blog has been cut short. I shall however make sure to post something new at least once a week.

Today I’d like to talk about how innocent I was as a child.

I have always been the sort of person to take things as face value, if something looks as it is supposed to then all is good. If I talk to someone and they tell me they are a lawyer then O.K. they are a lawyer. If I happen to find out that they are actually a drug dealer, then my first thought is well that’s dumb, why did they tell me they are a lawyer?

My innocent outlook on life has also formed my sense of humour too.  Things that my Father told me that I later found out to be nonsense really helped to shape that. 

For instance when you are growing up, your Fathers words and wisdom are there to shape the man you become. 

image from allaboutbirds.org

My Father once told me that if you see a sparrow on the ground you have to help it because it can’t take off from the ground. So of course I would spend an hour or so chasing birds out of the garden until either I got dizzy or the neighbours would come round to see what the idiot kid next door was doing.

 

You would think I was joking about this, but no.

Also my Father informed me that traffic lights were easy to mess around with and I could stop traffic at will just by jumping up and down in front of the white line. Apparently this would change the lights. This too was something I did without question to the annoyance of many a Bury St.Edmunds motorist.

Then there is the most valuable lesson I ever learned in my life, and I thank my Father for the lesson for it has helped me in many a situation.

One day my Father decided it was time to move the fish pond from the front garden to the back garden and he wanted to make a waterfall, for this he would need a bag of cement and so a trip to the local D.I.Y. store was in order. What with this being 1970s England we didn’t own a car so my Father grabbed the wheelbarrow and we want to walk the one and a half miles to the store.

“Hey Dad, Can I push the wheelbarrow?” 
“Of course you can.”

So I happily pushed the wheelbarrow to the store.  Much fun was had making it bounce up and down the kerbs.  A great Father son moment!  And then at the store we bought the bag of cement. A BIG heavy bag of cement.  My Father looked at the wheelbarrow and uttered these words.

“You wanted to push it, you push it all the way home.”

I at first thought he was joking, but his stern look and hurry up and push the wheelbarrow attitude told me otherwise.  I was around eight or nine years old and could barely lift the wheelbarrow. But he made me push it all the way home, no matter how much I moaned and whimpered.  And to my credit, I made it home, even up and down those stupid kerbs.

So to this day I have always looked back on that day and remembered that you should never volunteer for anything unless you know what you are letting yourself in for.

About davebakersoccer

I am a person who has always had too much time on their hands, and instead of creating a masterpiece or taking on the world, I have spent my time on nothing important at all.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 21. You Did What Now?

  1. Jan Delpier says:

    Another Great Posting!!

Like it? Don't like it? Just let me know you were here!

