20. Wishing

 

Today is my 42nd birthday. First let me apologise for not posting as much this week. I just started a new job this week so things have been a tad hectic.  Second last Saturday was the busiest day on this blog ever, and want to thank everyone who came by and commented.

Now I may be 42 today and the chances of me seeing a prezzie today are slim, but I am promised a steak dinner. When  I was younger my birthdays were more exciting, lots of presents and a big party. Though I worked out later that the big party was just an excuse for all the relatives to exchange their Christmas presents.  Having a December birthday sucks, being so close to X-mas and all that. I remember being told that my presents were both birthday and Christmas rolled into one.  Of course being a kid you buy it, but really when you do the math, a Topper annual and a box of chocolates don’t really cover the both days!

Grattan! Making schoolboys happy since 1950-something!

I remember, as a youngster, the months leading up to my big day. I would spend the days making lists of what I wanted for my birthday. I would go through the latest catalogue marking off all of the toys that I wanted, Action Man (G.I. Joe), Space 1999 or whatever

Pages from an Argos book, because I couldn't find a picture from a 1970s Grattan Catalogue!

was the hottest item of the day. I always wanted an Evil Kenival doll and bike, or a Six Million Dollar man toy, but I never did get either one of those.  I know this is going to be a short entry today, it is my birthday after all.  And by the smell of it I think my steak is done. So I shall bid you goodnight for now. I will though leave you with a video that was put together by my nephew for my 40th Birthday.  Enjoy.

About davebakersoccer

I am a person who has always had too much time on their hands, and instead of creating a masterpiece or taking on the world, I have spent my time on nothing important at all.
This entry was posted in Family, games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 20. Wishing

  1. Jan Delpier says:

    Another well written “blog”! I am sure you have many more Wishes though.

Like it? Don't like it? Just let me know you were here!

