19. Flood

 Why is the world in love again?

Why are we marching hand in hand?

Why are the ocean levels rising up?

It’s a brand new record,

For 1990,

They Might Be Giants’ brand new album,

Flood!

 These are the opening lines to one of the greatest records ever! And to think this record is over twenty years old now. I first bought Flood after hearing Birdhouse In Your Soul being played on Radio One. It was a different sound from the hum drum boring Euro-dance music that was being played over and over.

They Might Be Giants - Flood

TMBG have a sound of their own and it is easy to get hooked on their music, even the weird off the wall tracks like Particle Man. From beginning to end this is a great record. As I was telling my eldest daughter, they just don’t make albums like this anymore, to which she rolled her eyes and went back to whatever she was doing. Music CDs today are mainly toot. Yeah there will be one or two good tracks, but the rest of it is pure garbage.  Flood on the other hand is one of those rare delights where every track is a winner.  From Letterbox to Road Movie to Berlin you find yourself wanting to listen to the record over and over.  And I did.  I originally had the cassette in 1990 and it might as well have been looped because I would play it from end to end, time after time singing along to Racist Friend and Someone Keeps Moving My Chair.  In the end the inevitable happened and the tape wore out.  Leaving me with no option but to buy the CD. And then I bought the CD again when I moved to the States as the original was skipping a lot due to a lot of playing and me being heavy-handed putting it in and out of the CD player.  Flood and I have spent a lot of time together, and will for the foreseeable future. It doesn’t get old, it is like a wine that gets better with age. It is also a CD I return to when I’m feeling blue. How can you be sad after listening to Istanbul (not Constantinople)?  If you have never heard this CD go buy it. or at least borrow it from someone, even downloading it is fine, just make sure you listen to the tracks in the order they are meant to be heard.

I know this sounds like a review, and it probably is, but listening to this record as much as I have it had to be in this blog at some point. I love every second of time I’ve wasted listening.

About davebakersoccer

I am a person who has always had too much time on their hands, and instead of creating a masterpiece or taking on the world, I have spent my time on nothing important at all.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Like it? Don't like it? Just let me know you were here!

