14. Highlander

Every once in a while I shall talk about a movie. I mentioned that Star Wars saga recently for different reasons. The movies I mention from now on in will be because I was hooked on them in some cultish way or that for some reason I feel like I was the only person whoever a) liked it or b) watched it in the first place.

In 1986 I was clued into a masterpiece of cinema. A classic, just as the original Wicker Man had become. It was simply called Highlander. Staring Christopher Lambert (Subway) and the always fantastic Sean Connery this movie captured my imagination and changed my taste in music.  If you haven’t seen this classic then you should stop reading and go watch it as from now on are spoilers.  If you need an endorsement Ricky Bobby said the “It won the oscar for the best movie ever.” Lambert ( a Frenchman) plays Connor Macleod (a Scotsman) who is born in Scotland (obviously) in 1518, and he has the unfortunate problem of being immortal. He has to battle other immortals until only one remain, hence the sub-title There can be only one. As each story of this kind does the hero needs a mentor and this comes in the form of Sean Connery (a Scotsman,) Juan Sanchez Villa-Lobos Ramerez (an Egyptian, with a Spanish name and a Scottish accent) who teacher Connor the way of things. The only way you can kill an immortal is by taking their heads off. So lots of fancy swords. I think that’s what got me the most, the swords. I had a love of weapons. During my martial arts days I had all manner or lethal things hanging around. And I even had a replica sword from Highlander. which I often waved around like I knew what I was doing. The only thing better could have been a light saber!  The thumping soundtrack by Queen also saved the movie, the It’s A Kind of Magic album has most of the songs from the movie on it including the haunting Who Wants to Live Forever. The movies special effects were awful, the sound quality was always shaky. But this movie earns its cult status with ease.  Even when you can see the wires holding the hero up in the air in the final battle you don’t care. It is the thought of being immortal that gets you. Being able to see things over hundreds of years, and wondering if you’d actually enjoy it.  As for the movie, I still watch it when I have the chance. What I don’t do is ever watch Highlander II. Oh my God did that movie suck! I’d waited ages to see it and rushed off to the movie theater on the opening day and within two minutes of the movie starting they had ruined the story line. Then there was Highlander III, which re-deemed itself a little. A very bad but popular T.V. series and even a cartoon with no violence in it at all!

After all, There can be only one! And they should have left it at that!

About davebakersoccer

I am a person who has always had too much time on their hands, and instead of creating a masterpiece or taking on the world, I have spent my time on nothing important at all.
This entry was posted in Movies, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 14. Highlander

  1. Hey Dave,

    I agree Highlander is awesome. Swords, magic, & Christopher Lambert in a kilt – It has everything I could want in a movie lol
    If you don’t have your own copy, you’re welcome to borrow mine 🙂

Like it? Don't like it? Just let me know you were here!

