11. Mix Tapes

If you know what a mix tape is then this article is for you. If you think you know then read on you might enjoy it. If you don’t know then you obviously missed the late 80s!  If you want a clue read this Wiki.

I don’t know about you but the music from the 80s was the best. Sure every now and then some band writes a nice little ditty that I like, but it seemed to me that every song that came out in that wonderful decade was the best.

Now what exactly is a mix tape? For me it was all about mood.  If I was sad I would have a load of slow mushy tracks. Happy; it would be some up beat random songs. Energetic; Some metal to go running to. Intelligent; there’s nothing like listening to some classic classical on the bus to make you think you look clever!  Showing off; when you have the latest dance techno from Detroit and no one else does! Romantic; (and this is the most important one) when you met a girl you liked quiet often you would make a tape that would really let her know you liked her. Looking back that never seemed to work and I’d always end up having to buy some more blank tapes!

Mix tapes (at least for me) were always well thought out. I would sort out what songs I wanted first, then what order. The order being the most important when it came to mood. You can’t have a slow song leaping straight into an Anthrax track. That is just not right! For those who made tapes the same as me you may have the same issue I do to. When you made a GREAT tape, (one that you played over and over until you wore it out or one of your friends threw it out the car window), you would know exactly what song was coming up next. It would be embedded in you memory so much that now when you hear a certain song you taped being played on the radio you automatically think the next song on your tape is coming up.

These tapes were a snapshot of time, each one telling a story of how you felt that particular day.  Yes the CD came along but it wasn’t the same making a mix disc. And now that everyone has MP3 players the art form has died.  Sending someone your playlist just doesn’t sound as cool.

I thought I’d end this edition with a list of tracks from the 80s. An 80s Mix-blog-entry if you will!  Enjoy.

Side one
Toy Dolls – Nellie The Elephant (1984)
Heaven 17 – Temptation (1983)
Echo and the Bunnymen – The Killing Moon (1984)
Anthrax – I’m the Man (1987)
Nu Shooz – I Can’t Wait (1986)
Transvision Vamp – I Want Your Love (1988)
It Bites – Calling All The Heroes (1986)
Peter Gabrial – Games Without Frontiers (1980)
O.M.D. – Enola Gay (1980)
Public Image Ltd – Rise (1986)
Electronic – Getting Away With It (1989)

Side Two
Shannon – Let The Music Play (1984)
New Order – Blue Monday (1983, 1984, 1988)
Ultravox – All Fall Down (1986)
Fiction Factory – Feels Like Heaven (1984)
Fine Young Cannibles – Johnny Came Home (1985)
Frankie Goes to Hollywood – Two Tribes (1984)
Icicle Works – Who Do You Want For Your Love (1986)
China Crisis – Christian (1983)
Tenpole Tudor – Swords of a Thousand Men (1981)
Inner City – Big Fun (1988)
Ozzy Osbourne – Bark at the Moon (1983)
Neil – Hole In My Shoe (1984)

For you Robert Rankin fans theres something else there for you if you are in the know.

About davebakersoccer

I am a person who has always had too much time on their hands, and instead of creating a masterpiece or taking on the world, I have spent my time on nothing important at all.
This entry was posted in collections, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 11. Mix Tapes

  1. GGKenn says:

    Wow.. I have not thought about the great mix tapes in a looooong time. I remember even going to Radio Shack back then and buying a small tabletop mixer, so I could “DJ” on tape. Too funny.. Great tape music choices!

Like it? Don't like it? Just let me know you were here!

