2. The 7″ Single

Music has been a big part of my life. When I was a younger man I dreamed of being a radio disc jockey. Now the closest I get to being on the radio is facebook comments with Local radio hosts. Exciting stuff I know.

At the age of seven I bought my first single, this classic!

I was 7! what did I know?  I think I bought it because it was David Soul and he was in Starsky and Hutch the best cop show ever! Well O.K. the car was cool. But this 75p purchase was the start of it all. Over the next twenty years I would buy 3000 seven inch singles until the CD single came out and then my interest seemed to drop off.

There was something about listening to the chart show on a Sunday, finding a song you liked and rushing off on the bus with your pocket money to buy Adam and the Ants latest effort. Or better still know that your Mum was going in to town sending her off to buy something by The Sex Pistols. Would have loved to see her ask at the counter at woolworths for “never mind the bollocks,” but alas I never sent her off for that one.

Each single of course was a work of art. The covers each totally unique. It pains me when I think of all the cash I spent over the years on some terrible songs. And that now nearly all of them I can download for free if i find the right website, or listen to for free at a site like grooveshark. So what happened to this collection of musical masterpieces? I threw them all in the dustbin in 2002 when I moved to the United States.  Yeah I can hear some of you record enthusiasts yelling, I’d have taken them from you. Well, you should have answered the ad I put in the paper. I was smart though, I put all the rare tracks on the computer as MP3s first. No dumbass me!

2007 My hard drive fails I lose all my rare songs.

I’m a dumbass for not backing them up!

About davebakersoccer

I am a person who has always had too much time on their hands, and instead of creating a masterpiece or taking on the world, I have spent my time on nothing important at all.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Like it? Don't like it? Just let me know you were here!

